HEWITT ELECTED MAYOR

MR. ROOSEVELI IS THIRD IN THE CONTEST.

RESULTS OF THE VOTE IN THIS CITY FOR LOCAL OFFICERS, FOR CONGRESSMEN, ASSEMBLYMEN AND JUDGES.

There was a remarkably heavy vote polled in this city yesterday, and it resulted in a complete victory for the united Democratic ticket. The entire vote for Mayor, with two election districts missing, foots up 218,706. Of this Mr. Abram S. Hewitt, the Democratic candidate, obtained 90,199; Henry George, the Labor candidate, 67,581, and Theodore Roosevelt, Republican, 60,352. Mr. Hewitt's plurality over George was 22,618, and over Roosevelt 29,847. The Prohibition candidate received 574 votes. Mr. Hewitt's large plurality was sufficient to carry in the other candidates on the united Demodratic ticket, although he easily led the others.

Mr. Hewitt's large plurality was sufficient to carry in the other candidates on the united Democratic ticket, although he easily led the others. The candidates chosen are: For President of the Board of Aldermen-Henry R. Beekman, County Democrat; for Register-James J. Slevin, Tammany; for Judge of Supreme Court-Edward Patterson, County Democrat; for Judge of Superior Court-Philip Henry Dugro, Tammany. Mr. Lewis S. Goebel led the Republican city

Mr. Lewis S. Goebel led the Republican city and county vote. Mr. Goebel's vote was nearly 20,000 in excess of that cast for Mr. Roosevelt. The vote for Register, with only a few election districts missing, stood thus: Slevin, 90,990; Goebel, 79,863, and Demarest, 46,126.

Goebel, 79,863, and Demarest, 46,126. Mr. John C. O'Connor, Jr., the Republican candidate, took second place among the aspirants for the Presidency of the Board of Aldermen, although he was closely pressed by Mr. Robert B. Nooney, the Irving Hall and Labor candidate. The vote for the office stood: Beekman, 88,925; O'Connor, 64,367, and Nooney, 64,234.

In the contest for judicial positions Mr. Edward Patterson, the Democratic candidate for Supreme Court Judge, received an extremely large vote. It was, in fact, the largest received by any candidate on any ticket. Mr. Dugro, the candidate for Superior Court Judge, ran behind his ticket. Mr. Granville P. Hawes, the Republican candidate, ran considerably ahead of his ticket.

The total vote for Supreme Court Judge, with 13 of the S12 election districts missing, was: Patterson, 139,159; Mitchell, 68,984. For Superior Court the vote stood: Dugro, 97,815; Hawes, 72,865; Ecclesine, 38,126.

The Congressmen elected in this city show a gain of one in favor of the Republicans. The present delegation in the House of Representatives from this city consists of seven Democrats, and there is a vacancy in one district—the Ninth—caused by Mr. Pulitzer's resignation. The vacancy is to be tilled by the election of Mr. S. S. Cox, who was chosen yesterday for both the unexpired term and the new one. The delegation in the next Congress from this city will consist of eight members, seven being Democrats and one Republican. This does not include the Fourteenth District, only part of which is within the limits of New-York City. The delegation chosen yesterday consists of the following: Sixth District, Amos J. Cummings, County Democrat; Eighth District, Timothy J. Campbell, County Democrat; Ninth District, S. S. Cox, United Democracy; Tenth District, T. B. Spinola, Tammany; Eleventh District, W. Bourke Cockran, Tamany, and Thirteenth District, Ashbel P. Fitch, Republican.

Tainmany, and Thirteenth District, Ashbel P. Fitch, Republican. In three of the Congressional districts the contests were notable. In the Eighth Thomas F. Grady, Independent Democrat, pressed Mr. Campbell hard, and was beaten by only a few hundred votes. In the Tenth Mr. Allen T. Rice, the Republican, came near wresting vic-tory from Gen. Spinola, and in the tory from Gen. Spinola, and in the Thirteenth Mr. Fitch gained a gallant and decisive victory over Gen. Viele, the present Repre-sentative and a candidate for re-election. Messrs. Campbell and Merriman are the only two members of the present House who are reτurned. The Assembly delegation from this city elected last year consisted of 7 Tammany Hall men, 6 County Democrats, 6 Republicans, 4 Democrats not identified with any faction, and 1 Independent Democrat. The delegation to next year's Assembly will consist of 4 Republicans, ent Democrat. The delegation to next year's Assembly will consist of 4 Republicans, 12 County Democrats, and 8 Tam-inany men. Their names are Daniel E. Finn, County Democrat; T. D. Sullivan, County Democrat; James E. Power, County Democrat; Jeremiah Hayes, Tammany; Michael Brennan, County Democrat; W. J. McKenna, Tammany; George H. Henry, Republican; Charles Smith, Republican; John Martin, Coun-ty Democrat; George F. Langbein, County Dem-ocrat; Robert R. Hamilton, Republican; Assembly will consist of County Democrats, ty Democrat; George F. Langbein, County Democrat; Robert R. Hamilton, Republican; L. A. Giegerich, Tammany; W. P. Mulry, Tam-many; Jacob Kunzenman, County Demo-crat; George H. McAdam, County Democrat; E. P. Hagan, Tammany; William Dalton, Tam-many; John F. Kenny, County Democrat; E. S. Ives, Tammany; W. H. Hornidge, County Dem-ocrat; E. H. Crosby, Republican; John F. Mc-Intyre, County Democrat; J. A. Cantor, Tam-many, and John B. Shea, County Democrat. The noted contests in the Assembly race were in the Tenth District, where George F. Langbein defeated Charles A. Binder, and that in the Thirteenth District, where Frederick S. Gibbs was defeated, though by only 76 votes, by his Democratic opponent, Mulry. The Republican loss in Assemblymen is two. loss in Assemblymen is two. The Board of Aldermen for 1887 will consist of 6 Republicans, 8 County Democrats, 10 Tam-The many men, and one independent Democrat. The latter is Cornelius Flynn, who ran in the First District on the Irving Hall and Labor ticket. This category includes the President of the Board, already referred to. The present Board of Aldermen consists of 1 Irving Hall man, 4 Re-publicans, 11 County Democrats, and 9 Tam-many men. In the new board the Republicans have gained two members, the County Democrats have lost three and Tammany has gained one have lost three, and Tammany has gained one. RepublicanAldermen were elected in the Seventh Eighth, Eleventh, Thirteenth, Twenty-first. and Twenty-third Districts. The names of the the Aldermen who will compose the new board are as follows: President, Henry R. Beekman, County Democrat; Cornelius Flynn, In-dependent Democrat; Patrick Divver, Tam-many; P. N. Oakley, Tammany; D. E. Dowling, County Democrat; Philip Holland, Tammany; Constro Menninger County Democrat. A. P. Gustavo Menninger, County Democrat; A. R. Conkling, Republican; Christian Goetz, Repub-lican; W. H. Walker, Tammany; William Ficke, Tammany; J. T. Van Rensselaer, Republican; William Tait, County Democrat; James A. William Tait, County Democrat; James A. Cowie, Republican; Charles Bennett, Tam-many; J. J. Corcoran, Tammany; Joseph Murray, County Democrat; John Quinn, County Democrat; Hugh Farrell, Tammany; P. B. Masterson, County Democrat; J. E. Fltzgerald, Tammany; C. P. Sandford, Republican; Matthew Smith, Tammany; Jacob M. Long, Republican, and James J. Mooney, County Democrat. The vote for Court of Appeals Judge showed a gratifying result for Judge Daniels, the Repub-lican candulate. With 10 election districts missing the vote stood: Peckham, 129,931; Daniels, 77,567. Peckham's plurality was 52,364.

A very large vote was cast in favor of a Constitutional Convention. It will probably show over 150.000 m favor of the measure.

Details of the voting in the city are furnished in the appended tables.