1. John Hunter Walker (1872-1955) served the United Mine Workers of America as an organizer for West Virginia, president of the Danville, Ill., subdistrict of District 12 (Illinois), and then as executive board member (1905-6) and president (1906-9, 1910-13, 1931-33) of District 12. He was president of the Illinois State Federation of Labor (1913-19, 1920-30), and in 1915 helped organize the Illinois State Cooperative Society, serving as its first president (1915-21). In 1906 Walker ran unsuccessfully on the Socialist Party of America ticket for a seat in the U.S. House of Representatives. He was expelled from the party in 1916. In 1917 he served on the President's Mediation Commission. In 1919 he joined the National Labor party (in 1920 renamed the Farmer-Labor party) and was its unsuccessful candidate for governor of Illinois in 1920.

2. Non-Partisan Successes: Report of the Activities of the Non-Partisan Political Campaign Committee of the American Federation of Labor in the Primaries and Elections of 1922 ([Washington, D.C.], [1922]).

3. Halvor Steenerson (1852-1926) served as a Republican congressman from Minnesota from 1903 to 1923.

4. Miles Poindexter, a Republican senator from Washington from 1911 to 1923, lost the seat in 1922 to Democrat Clarence Cleveland Dill (1884-1978), who served as senator from 1923 to 1935. [GET THIS RIGHT}


Members of Oklahoma's short-lived Farmer-Labor Reconstruction League endorsed Democratic candidate John C. Walton in that state's 1922 gubernatorial election, leading to his victory in a bitterly contested campaign.

Forty Years of Action: Non-Partisan Political Policy, American Federation of Labor (Washington, D.C., 1920).